$1,000,000

Daily prompt – You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?


“Congratulations Sir, you are a millionaire, 1 million dollars have been credited to your account yesterday”, said the bank accountant when I went for depositing some money.

“What …, what are you talking about, Sir?”, I asked dumbfounded.

“According to details, it says that your aunt, Mrs. Smith, some few years ago signed a will in which was written that she would give $1,000,000 to you when she died. It seems she has died and thus you have been gifted so much amount of money”, he replied.

“Wait. What name did you say?”

“Mrs. Smith. Why, don’t you know her?”

Here, I was completely astonished because to tell the truth, I don’t know or remember any of my aunts with the name Mrs. Smith. But I gave it a thought and replied, “OK, that’s great, I will come by tomorrow for now I need time to think what I shall do with this money.”

“Have a great day”, he greeted me. I left the bank and rushed straight to my house. My father was reading the newspaper; I approached him and told him the whole story.

“Whoa! I never thought your aunt would do such a thing. I received the news of her death a few days ago but I didn’t tell you since you are very less acquainted to her.”

“What now?”, I asked, puzzled in my mind about what to do.

“Well. Let me think. I don’t have any use for so much money. What about you? You need anything?”

“I don’t think so. Why not be buy a new car. The old one has become too rugged.”

“That’s a good idea. But that would only cost a little from that much amount”, and he resumed reading the newspaper.

I went into my room pondering about the subject. At length I resolved that since I had no use of so much money I would simply donate it to charity. When evening came, I told my plan of action to my parents and they readily agreed to it.

And that’s the end of those 1 million dollars. I hope the money would have been put to good use.

5 thoughts on “$1,000,000

Your Thoughts -

