Suarez’s folly

Daily Prompt – Team USA is playing today in the soccer World Cup in Brazil. Do you have any funny/harrowing/interesting memories from a sporting event you attended, participated in, or watched?


The most interesting thing I remember from any of the matches that I have seen is the event when Liverpool player Luis Suarez bit Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic in his top right arm.

Liverpool faced lots of criticism and bullying after Suarez’s incident. But Suarez later tweeted, “I apologize (to) Ivanovic and all football world for my inexcusable behaviour. I’m so sorry about it!!”

I don’t know why Suarez did that. Did he went rogue, did he revenged himself (since Ivanovic didn’t let him goal) or was it just for fun. Anyways, it was incident everyone will remember. But after all, Luis Suarez is one of the best players in the world. He scored twice against England and ended the game 2-1 (England’s goal being scored by Wayne Rooney).

4 thoughts on “Suarez’s folly

  1. Similarly, why did Zidane lose his marbles and headbutt Materazzi during the World Cup Final 8 years ago? I think we all – professional players included – lose our mind every so often and do things we regret.

    Though I can’t say I’ve ever lost my mind and taken a bite out of someone or tried to put my head through their chest. Normally I just zone out and daydream. But hey, that’s me.

    Like

Your Thoughts -

