Punctual Punctuation

Daily Prompt – We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!


My punctuations are always punctual. Meaning I use them where I have to (and when I have to). To me all punctuation marks are the same and treat them with equality (lest they should start fighting against each other!). I like writing in active voice and direct speech. If you have read some of my previous posts you will notice that I start with some dialogue. I use double quotes a lot. Exclamation marks? I use them rarely.

Since I am a full-time programmer, I have to always check whether the semicolons are in place or not. If they aren’t, your program could even crash without your knowing. Forgetting to insert semicolons after every statement in programs is the most stupid mistake done by programmers (and it takes a lot of time to notice it if you are not using any IDE). If you use Notepad for programming in JavaScript for example, and you forget a semicolon, God help you. Semicolons give me some trouble wherever I use them in normal writing. Most of the time I get confused in deciding whether I should use a semicolon or simply start over a new sentence. It feels quirky!

5 thoughts on “Punctual Punctuation

Your Thoughts -

