Learning Spanish

Daily Prompt – Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.


Learning a new language becomes harder and harder the more old you get; because our grasping and learning capability decreases after the age of 12. I never thought of learning some new language until years after that 12 year old margin. I was (and am) fluent in English, Hindi and Marathi.

One day, a thought (I know not from where) came into my mind that why shouldn’t I learn Spanish (I thought about French too) so that I could know at least one foreign language (after English). I downloaded eBooks to learn Spanish on my own. But whenever I started to read, I used to get bored and then just shut down my computer and give up the thought of learning. Then after a day or two, I would again start and again the same thing happened. I wanted to learn but didn’t wanted to learn.

After many days, I gave up the idea of learning to speak Spanish. I thought, “I know three languages already and I must improve them first. Why should I learn a new language and fill up my brain. And anyways there is no one here to whom I could talk in Spanish and practice. My studies will go in vain.”

That’s how I ended my quest of learning a new language. What about you? Have you ever tried to learn a foreign language.

 

3 thoughts on “Learning Spanish

Your Thoughts -

