Making WiFi hotspot with a USB WiFi adapter

Need a hotspot to update you phone? Or something else? Whatever be your cause, here is a method for creating a WiFi hotspot quickly and without buying a WiFi router.

1. Buy a USB WiFi adapter:

Buy any USB WiFi adapter.

2. Install the WiFi adapter:

Install the drivers of the adapter that come packaged with it.

3. Open cmd:

Open command prompt with administrator privileges.

4. Run commands:

Hotspot configuration command
Hotspot configuration command

Run the following command:
netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=hotspot_name_here key=password_here
This will set the hotspot properties like hotspot name and password.

Then:
netsh wlan start hostednetwork
This command will start the hotspot.

5. Share the internet connection:

Internet Connection Sharing over hotspot connection
Internet Connection Sharing over hotspot connection

Run the command: ncpa.cpl OR open network connection from the control panel. Right-click your internet connection and select properties. Select the Sharing tab. Tick the first checkbox and select your hotspot connection from the drop-down list. The hotspot will have some name like “Local Area Connection *13” or “Wireless Network Connection” or something like that. Click OK and you’re done. Your hotspot is ready.

To stop your hotspot, just run the command: netsh wlan stop hostednetwork

Note: After hearing from a lot of users and some of my friends, I have found out that this method sometimes gives problems when performed in Windows 8. If that happens in your case, consider buying a Wi-Fi router.

118 thoughts on “Making WiFi hotspot with a USB WiFi adapter

  1. Id really like to use the internet connection from my external wifi adapter to be distributed to other devices specifically from my internal wifi adapter. Do you know a method to accomplish this?

    Like

  2. Hi
    I have my laptop and I am using WIFI
    Mean time I have bought WIFI adapter to use it as hotspot, there is no driver with adapter and even when i run the command which is mentioned above , I can see below:

    C:\Users\Ali>netsh wlan start hostednetwork
    The hosted network couldn’t be started.
    The group or resource is not in the correct state to perform the requested operation.

    let me know what should i do to use my new usb adapter as hotspot even i can not find any hotspot icon in my internet setting
    Can anybody help me
    regards
    Ali

    Like

    1. After you have plugged in your Wi-Fi adapter, your laptop will have two interfaces. I’m not sure on which one the hostednetwork will be created since you cannot make the Wi-Fi which is used to internet as hotspot.

      I can’t create a similar environment to test it, so I’m sorry I can’t help. If anybody knows how to implement the hotspot in this scenario, please reply here.

      Like

Your Thoughts -

