The Mind Reader

Daily Prompt – A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?


“Here’s your shipment. Sign here please”, said the courier man who just delivered me my mind reader chip.

“Yeah. Sure”, I replied signing the delivery receipt. As he went I closed the door behind him and quickly tore open the packaging. The packaging was too large with many documents, end-user license agreement (that everyone of us has to agree with). I couldn’t believe that the chip was made by a mad scientist. Anyways, I took hold of the chip and scrutinized it with a magnifying glass.

The user manual read, “Swallow the chip with a glass of water. Use with caution. It can’t be removed”. I was quite astonished with that. I was so excited that I didn’t even mind its non-removableness.

I did as was instructed and in a moment I had become the mind reader who could reader others’ mind. I felt as if I was the greatest man on earth who could read others’ mind.

I wanted to try it out without a moment of delay. I went over to my friend’s house and rang the doorbell. My friend opened the door and I said, “Behold your friend, the mind reader.”

“Another crap device he has come to show me, I guess”, I could hear but I didn’t see his lips moving. The chip was working. I replied with a confident countenance the same lines he said. His jaws dropped, his eyes opened wide. His countenance had the most what-in-the-world-is-that look.

“How could he read my mind”, I heard again, his thoughts. I again replied and he just kept looking at me.

“What do you say, bro? Did you like it?”, I asked him. I told him not to use his mouth, just think and I will hear it. The next moment only I could be heard talking. He was just thinking everything and I could hear him.

“Doesn’t this mean invading others’ privacy?”, he thought (and I heard).

“Well…..err…..y..yess”, I replied. “But still it’s great and I love it. But there is one problem.”

“What problem?”

“I can’t remove it.”

“What???”

“It’s just as you heard. I can’t remove it”, I said.

Actually, when I reflected over the matter, I thought my friend correct. It meant invading others’ privacy. But still, nothing could be done now. I had integrated the chip inside of me and there is no solution. I would probably ask the scientist. That’s the best I could do.

Anyways, I liked the device since it worked only on those people who talked to me directly.

Your Thoughts -

