Sudden Downpour! Eh?

Daily Prompt – It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next!


“Take an umbrella, just in case”, shouted my mom as I dashed out of my house.

“Later”, I said. I was so eager to see one of my friend’s new laptop that I didn’t even care to take an umbrella. Anyways, it was a sunny day and I didn’t expect to rain. But…

God knows from where the clouds came and started such a typical windy monsoon rainfall that I was obliged to find some shelter. I started running to the nearest store that I could find. I found one (though I was already drenched). It was one of those old fashioned stores that you used to see in the olden times. I marveled at it’s olden structure while entering it.

“Bad weather, eh?”, said the proprietor coming out of the back room.

“Yeah. Good that I found some shelter. What’s this shop about, by the way? It’s looks old”, I said.

“It’s my antique shop where one can find old artifacts, books or anything old. Anything that reminds you of olden but golden times.” And he showed me his shop. There were many old artifacts (all dust covered) with some year engraved at the bottom of it. Those artifacts and books piqued my curiosity and I looked through all the objects kept there.

The shopkeeper was a very generous person. A senior-citizen, almost 5 foot, wrinkled face supported with a stick. He explained to me the history of all the artifacts and even gave me a little summary of some of the most famous books of his time. One thing I liked the most was a small piece of artifact shaped like a spear. The year 1680 was engraved below it.

“The hunters used these small spears to attack in closed spaces where normal weapons were of no use. Like in caves”, said the proprietor. I asked the price and checking the amount of money I had, paid him and thanked him for his generosity. It was a 15 minute walk from the shop to my friend’s. As soon as the rain stopped (which it did after 10 minutes), I rushed to my friend’s house. Now eager to see his laptop and show him my new (old) spear.

One thought on “Sudden Downpour! Eh?

Your Thoughts -

