The future of earth

Daily Prompt – You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, it at all?


“Your wish has been granted”, said the genie with his majestic voice. “But the catch is that each time you use it, you will lose one day of your life. In simple words, you’ll die early.”

“That doesn’t matter. I don’t bother how much I live and one day isn’t much (compared to the decades I am going to live). Now get yourself going”, I said.

“As your wish.” And then with a whoosh and a cloud of fog he disappeared right before me.

“Let’s try predicting how the earth will be after 500 years or so”, I thought. I strained my brain a little and fell asleep, seeing the future.

The earth was completely abandoned. There was no sign of life anywhere. I roamed through my hometown and all its nearby places, also the capitals of various countries. Everywhere there was nothing but dust and only dust. There was not a single tree or forest, only abandoned dusty skyscrapers, bridges and roads. The situation was just like in the movie WALL-E.

Then I came back. The power was used once, so I had lost one day of my life. “That’s enough. I don’t think I need to predict more. If we use resources at such a fast rate then this prediction would come true.” I now realized how much we waste our precious natural resources. What will happen of our future generations if this carries on? Let’s save our mother earth.

I will predict again after a decade to see how much more the earth will deteriorate.

2 thoughts on “The future of earth

Your Thoughts -

