Witty Lies

Daily Prompt – As kids, we’re told, time and again, that lying is wrong. Do you believe that’s always true? In your book, are there any exceptions?


In my book? I have a book? I didn’t know that! Thanks WordPress for reminding me. Let me check it out. (I’m searching). Ah! I found it. “Action 101: What to do and when.” Let’s see the index. Page 1037, line 45, “Lie if a situation is unavoidable and you need to get out of it. Lie if it can reduce your burden of work (or homework).”

One lie that many of us have used in our school days. Suppose today’s your homework submission and you haven’t done it yet. The best thing to avoid scolding is telling that, “I had finished my homework but I forgot to bring the book. I’ll bring it tomorrow, for sure.” But anyways, you will still get scolded for not bringing the book. Sometimes teachers see right through and say, “I know you haven’t done any of your homework and you are doing nothing but just buying time. Bring it tomorrow. No excuses.”

I was watching a program on the television in which was shown how to catch lies. One trick is that the pupils of the liar widen when they say a lie. But it is too hard to catch (try it yourself and you’ll know!). Another is that an unusual shivering occurs. Another that the liar doesn’t look right into your eyes.

There are many ways to catch a lie but is there is anyone whose got that much sense of awareness to notice all the signs? We aren’t Sherlock Holmes, after all.

2 thoughts on “Witty Lies

  1. You need to have a slow motion capture enabled eye to see the pupil dilating..lol.. and yeah its hard.. BTW which program were you refering to when you mentioned the trick “Lie to me” or “Sherlock Holmes”??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t remember the name of the program but it was airing on the “National Geographic” channel. About Sherlock, I have read all his books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

      Regards,
      TurboBlaze

      Like

Your Thoughts -

