Two Right Feet

Daily Prompt – What are the things you need to do within 30 minutes of waking up to ensure your day gets off on the right foot? What happened the last time you didn’t do one of these things?


The first thing I try to do when I wake up is, try to sleep again. Yeah, really. The ringing of my alarm clock is the most irritating sound I hear every morning. I try to sleep for at least 5 minutes more and then I realize that my schedule is so tight in the morning that if I miss even 5 minutes, it would be a disaster. Buses would be crowded, traffic will increase and the worst of all, I will be late for college. Wait, I am digressing.

In the 30 minutes after my waking up I, stretch my body and relax a little, brush my teeth, switch on wi-fi on my phone to let it synchronize and heat the water for bathing. These are all those most basic things everyone does every morning. Nothing special. One of the most important thing is to check my college timetable so that I do not miss anything. Sometimes I forget it and it results in a 5 minute lecture from the professors. But who cares?

Every night I decide that tomorrow morning, while getting off the bed I will put my right foot first. But every morning I forget it somehow and after the next few seconds I can’t remember which foot I used. It happens automatically and is was a daily iterated process. Now I don’t think about it because I know that how much ever I try it, I will anyhow forget it and it won’t be of any use. Come to think of it, I don’t know even know from where this custom of putting your right foot first everywhere is good came. I was always told to belive these kinds of customs since it were created by our ancestors. And if we offend, people will say that you don’t respect your ancestors. Sigh.

The last time I snoozed my alarm I got really very late. Because I thought that the alarm’s snooze time was set to 5 minutes. But in reality it was 30 minutes. Now I need not relate what happened then. You are all smart enough to guess.

One thought on “Two Right Feet

Your Thoughts -

