Text, Text, Text

Daily Prompt – How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?


I am writing a daily prompt after so many days. It seems I faced a writer’s block. But that happens, doesn’t it. I don’t commumnicate online differently. Actually I don’t communicate online at all. I do everything in person. I have no Facebook, no Twitter, no Instagram, no…just name any social network. I deleted everything a long time ago. Even before I started this blog.

This blog is the only medium of my communication. And since WordPress doesn’t support a lot of emoticons, I express my emotions and intent in purely written form. Mostly I use adverbs and adjectives. Or sometimes I just put a (sigh) at the end of a sentence when I can’t help it.

Online communication has taken over the world (or will take over the world, eventually). And there is nothing we can do about it. Whenever I’m travelling in a bus or a train, I always see people glued to their smartphones and tablets. It’s like they would die if they lose these small electronic gadgets. (Sigh). I admit that I have a smartphone (who doesn’t have one these days?) but I use it only when I need it. I don’t have any social apps installed on it and I always refrain from doing so no matter how much any of my friend forces me. One friend even texted me a link to download WhatsApp on my phone but I just discarded it. Hahaha.

Communicating emotion through purely written form doesn’t get conveyed the same way always. So it is better to communicate in person. Talking over the phone isn’t a bad idea either.

4 thoughts on “Text, Text, Text

Your Thoughts -

