Polite Company

Daily Prompt – “It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?


Of course agree. In India sometimes people become quite aggressive if we say anything against their beliefs. So as long as you want to stay polite and friendly with strangers talk everything except politics or religion or even nowadays their favourite sports club. So if you meet any strangers and you want to discuss politics (if the elections are looming nearby) take it lightly. Just skim over it and try to change the topic as soon as possible.

As a matter of fact, I don’t talk much about religion. Once I just teased a friend when his favourite club lost the match and he challenged me to a debate. He started blurting out all the past achievements and trophies and shut me up. I thought it better not to say anything further.

As far as politics is concerned, I don’t know an inch about it. Whatever goes on in the government is mostly the play of money. Corrupt men, corrupt systems and what not. Sometimes I think it was better when the British ruled over India. At least there was no corruption. Or was there? I don’t know. Any government work that has a deadline of suppose 2 years will take 10 years to complete (literally, I’m not joking). Sigh.

One thought on “Polite Company

Your Thoughts -

