History of Confusion

Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell!


Me during exams: The battle of Panipat was fought in…. Oh, what the hell! What year was it? Let it be. I’ll just write “The battle of Panipat was fought”. That’s it.

I am sure that most of the people will be selecting the same subject as me. And that’s the subject of History. History has always pulled me in its land of confusion and I have always ended up battling with it on that land. History exams were a nightmare. Not just for me, but for many of my friends in my class.

Remembering the years of different happenings was the worst thing to do. And then we had to memorize the biography of different people, the role they played. Which countries fought in the World War? When did Mahatma Gandhi start the Dandi March? Argh! All these questions eat up my mind and it happens that I jumble everything up during the examination session.

I never had any interest in history. After all what is the use of knowing the history when you can do nothing about it. You can’t go and undo the World Wars, you can’t stop slaughter of the Jews by Hitler, you can’t do anything. Instead we must focus on the present and look into the future and hope that no world war is fought again. But since I have passed school, I have left that subject behind. I can’t explain the joy I experienced on the day of my last history exam.

And lastly, a quote:

I don’t know with what weapons World War III will be fought but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones. — Albert Einstein

2 thoughts on “History of Confusion

  1. I somehow used to like the subject. And years chronologically would put the events in meaning! Yes, it would be difficult in remembering, but, somehow i managed them! 🙂

    and i history brings lessons. Like said in the last quote. Life is a cycle and lessons come from history, i feel.. may be! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts -

